help, cant play due to lagging !

Only topics related to the game Team Fortress franchise in this forum please.
Post Reply
User avatar
dmc25_uk
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:00 am

help, cant play due to lagging !

Post by dmc25_uk » Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:08 pm

just got this yesturday and cant play as its so laggy
is there anything i can do ?
everything else works fine (HL , CS EXT)

We have a gforce 6 graphics card and only got this computer new in march so what could it possibly be , getting really anoyed to the point i may end up taking it back !



l2es-brune
Planetside 2 moderator
Posts: 2812
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Shooting Butts Road, North Island, New Zealand

Post by l2es-brune » Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:27 pm

What model is your GFX card and what settings are you playing on (low/high/etc) fella? Are you experiencing lag in any other online games or is just TF2?
Image

User avatar
dmc25_uk
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:00 am

Post by dmc25_uk » Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:12 pm

we have a nividia gf card, we have set most things to med/low and yep only tfc 2 we have the privaalidge of the lag

l2es-brune
Planetside 2 moderator
Posts: 2812
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Shooting Butts Road, North Island, New Zealand

Post by l2es-brune » Sun Dec 02, 2007 2:10 pm

what model if the sries 6? If its not top of the range - ie a 6800 I'd imagine you'd be struggling. Are your nvidia drivers up to date? TF2 really stretches your rig especially on a busy server.
Image

User avatar
dmc25_uk
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:00 am

Post by dmc25_uk » Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:03 pm

no its a geforce 6100 ! only got this a few months ago, out of date already grrrrr
i have update it yesturday, blast looks like santa will be bringing me a new graphics card for crimbo !

l2es-brune
Planetside 2 moderator
Posts: 2812
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Shooting Butts Road, North Island, New Zealand

Post by l2es-brune » Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:33 pm

TBH m8 that card was never suitable for todays gaming fullstop, and was old tech when you bought it. Be careful when you buy a new card I imigine your PSU won't have much kick in it either (my guess its about 300W)

Any guys out there buying cheap off the shelf computers for gaming beware, they WILL generally not cut the mustard, unless they are an overpriced gaming spec rig :wink:

My first PC was made by Tiny, so I have been in the position myself.
Homemade ftw!
Image

User avatar
dmc25_uk
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:00 am

Post by dmc25_uk » Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:05 pm

PSU ?

l2es-brune
Planetside 2 moderator
Posts: 2812
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Shooting Butts Road, North Island, New Zealand

Post by l2es-brune » Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:08 pm

Power supply unit :)
Image

User avatar
l2es-darfvader
Consoles Moderator
Posts: 899
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:00 am

Post by l2es-darfvader » Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:15 pm

im running the game with a 6800. smooth sailing.

User avatar
dmc25_uk
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:00 am

Post by dmc25_uk » Mon Dec 03, 2007 8:41 am


KopMcginty
Posts: 606
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:00 am

Post by KopMcginty » Mon Dec 03, 2007 9:22 am

What budget do you have to spend?

Running Vista with just 1GB of Ram is going to be having a big impact too, you need at least 2GB really, lots of people would say even more with Vista. I'd say increasing the Ram is just as important as getting a new graphics card.

As to cards, the Nvidea 8800 cards are king at the moment, the GT and GTS cards being very good value. If you are looking for even cheaper, you wont go far wrong with an ATI X1950pro which will run any game out now but isnt going to have as long a life as the newer 8800's.

l2es-brune
Planetside 2 moderator
Posts: 2812
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Shooting Butts Road, North Island, New Zealand

Post by l2es-brune » Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:07 am

Image

User avatar
dmc25_uk
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:00 am

Post by dmc25_uk » Tue Dec 04, 2007 10:30 am

thanks for that ill be buying sortly so should be able to play again

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest