help please with hard drive , thanks

Only posts related to the Call of Duty "COD" franchise.
Post Reply
User avatar
l2es-chunkymr
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Holmfirth

help please with hard drive , thanks

Post by l2es-chunkymr » Fri Mar 04, 2011 2:00 pm

Looking to get a sata hard drive.

will need one of these.

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Home/Produ ... er---Data-

Then i had a look at my motherboard 8O

http://www.gigabyte.eu/products/product ... id=2456#ov

IT says " SATA 3Gb/s storage interface

SATA 3Gb/s doubles bus bandwidth from 1.5Gb/s to 3Gb/s. SATA 3Gb/s facilitates bandwidth aggregation for multiple devices, enabling max through put as well as, higher cache through put performance in single drive configurations.

What does it mean by doubles bandwidth from 1.5gb to 3gb?
Also the end of the data cable looks like it will not fit into the yellow or purple sata sockets on my board, or is it just me?

Many thanks counfused (stupid).


Image

l2es-roguesamurai
Posts: 1800
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Athlone, Ireland

Post by l2es-roguesamurai » Fri Mar 04, 2011 2:09 pm

I believe 1.5gb/s was the old standard before sata 3gb/s. I thing that was the speed ide ran at, although not 100% on that. Its nothing to worry about anyway. If you have a sata 3gb/s hard drive, which it will be, and plug it into your sata connector it'll be fine and run at upto 3gb/s. Why do you need that cable though? does the hard drive your getting require you to get it?

User avatar
l2es-chunkymr
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Holmfirth

Post by l2es-chunkymr » Fri Mar 04, 2011 2:17 pm

Running power off pin plug, something like this

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Home/Produ ... isk-Drive-

Just seen this Hard Drive.

http://www.eclipsecomputers.com/product ... W-1500EADS
Image

l2es-roguesamurai
Posts: 1800
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Athlone, Ireland

Post by l2es-roguesamurai » Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:51 pm

The samsung spin point hdd get very good reviews. The f3 I think is the newer version. If you have a spare power plug from your psu, you may not need one of those splitters. Not sure.

User avatar
l2es-chunkymr
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Holmfirth

Post by l2es-chunkymr » Sat Mar 05, 2011 5:29 pm

Samsung spin point hdd f3, the buffer speed is 32mg. Is it better getting a 64mg than 32mg, 64 is quicker than 32?

Is it better getting a faster 7200 Rotational Speed (RPM) than a slower, variable one?
Image

l2es-roguesamurai
Posts: 1800
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Athlone, Ireland

Post by l2es-roguesamurai » Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:13 pm

8O :?

Have a read of some reviews mate,
Try bit-tech, tomshardware, guru3d etc etc. Just see what they rate as best for your price and get that. I know Bit-tech recommend the Samsung.

User avatar
l2es-chunkymr
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Holmfirth

Post by l2es-chunkymr » Tue Mar 08, 2011 10:07 pm

thanks for hlep. :)
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest