Source of Black Ops lag issues....

Only posts related to the Call of Duty "COD" franchise.
Post Reply
l2es-ArmyMan
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 1:00 am
Location: Behind you with a knife.

Source of Black Ops lag issues....

Post by l2es-ArmyMan » Sun Apr 24, 2011 4:26 pm

After reading forum and forums about these lag issues with black ops, i finnaly found the reason why. 5% of the reason are those who dont meet minimal requirements. The rest that do meet requirements and exceed them all have on thing in common. No it isnt that they all have Nivida cards, or Ati cards, but that they have Windows Vista or Windows 7. Both Vista and 7 run Directx 10 or 11, but Black Ops runs in Directx 9. That why users with Windows XP arent having these issues. For us Vista and 7 users, Black Ops has a Directx9 emulator and this is the cause of all our issues. I didnt beleive this at first untill i found it in the Steam Folder. Look inside you Steam Black Ops folder, in the Folder Redist...There is where the Directx9 emulator is.....

So many of us paid tons of money to get windows 7 or vista and the 64x bit version, only to have issues because Treyarch didnt want to run their games in Directx 10 or 11.....


Image

l2es-brune
Planetside 2 moderator
Posts: 2811
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Shooting Butts Road, North Island, New Zealand

Post by l2es-brune » Sun Apr 24, 2011 5:18 pm

That's because it's a re-skin of a console port (MW2) :(

Remember PC owners/players are second class citizens and titles developed for PC are getting thinner and thinner. (BF3....Strategy games...MMO's)
Image

l2es-ArmyMan
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 1:00 am
Location: Behind you with a knife.

Post by l2es-ArmyMan » Sun Apr 24, 2011 5:42 pm

Its acutally still using the same engine as in Cod4....and most likely Modern Warfare 3 will be no diffrent....same old engine....
Image

l2es-roguesamurai
Posts: 1800
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Athlone, Ireland

Post by l2es-roguesamurai » Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:26 pm

l2es-ArmyMan wrote:Its acutally still using the same engine as in Cod4....and most likely Modern Warfare 3 will be no diffrent....same old engine....
Yep!! this has already been confirmed, their will be no new engine for MW3. Soneone from Activision said this, cant remember how he put it, but he basically said 'why would we want to spend all that money on developing a new engine when you lot will just keep buying it yr after yr as it is' or something along those lines.
Funny though that EA and Crytek have managed to do a gorgeous looking game that has also been taken from a console and is currently only available in dx9 with Crysis 2, and that suffers no such lag. I suspect if you were to run BF2 on a modern win 7 or Vista machine you would also have no such problem. It comes down to a lazy money grabbing bunch of tossers who just couldn't be bothered as it just aint worth the agro to sort it out. :evil:

l2es-brune
Planetside 2 moderator
Posts: 2811
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Shooting Butts Road, North Island, New Zealand

Post by l2es-brune » Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:52 pm

l2es-ArmyMan wrote:Its acutally still using the same engine as in Cod4....and most likely Modern Warfare 3 will be no diffrent....same old engine....
Aye my point is that they did not bother with DX10/11 because consoles don't use it. When COD 4 released there was only DX9!
Image

l2es-MooK
Posts: 1187
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 1:00 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by l2es-MooK » Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:01 pm

Its not Dx9 that makes the cod graphics poor there are plenty of amazing looking games out which arnt yet touching on the dx10/11 stuff yet. what makes it poor is just it being rushed and no care going into it. They could still make an impressive looking and running engine for cod using DX9 only which would be far superior to the current one.

Allmost all of the added stuff in the Dx10/11 is polish and adding those little axtras that make it realistic but that takes tons of time to implement. So far the changes are barely noticable until someone (BF3) actualy gets some proper use out of the new features. The games using dx 10 atm its allmost impossible to notice any diffrence and alot of the time many people get worse performance and problems when running dx 10.
ImageImage

l2es-ArmyMan
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 1:00 am
Location: Behind you with a knife.

Post by l2es-ArmyMan » Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:56 pm

Im not saying its because its Directx9, im saying its the Directx9 backwards Emulator that Black Ops put in its game that sucks....Since they arent making a new engine they got plenty of people sitting around that they decided to make a department just work on new map packs.... Why would i want them to make new maps for me if the game sucks and current maps laggy as hell....
Image

l2es-brune
Planetside 2 moderator
Posts: 2811
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Shooting Butts Road, North Island, New Zealand

Post by l2es-brune » Mon Apr 25, 2011 8:26 am

New maps make money - fixing lag does not make as much, you have already paid the money for the core game and most COD fans would buy the maps anyway. Let's face it Activision know who they own! ;)
Image

l2es-roguesamurai
Posts: 1800
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Athlone, Ireland

Post by l2es-roguesamurai » Mon Apr 25, 2011 1:12 pm

Activision have said that 'innovation' is the key to next Call Of Duty. Not sure what kind of innovation they're talking about though. The deffenition of innovation in the dictionary is -
(the use of) a new idea or method
But MW3 is just MW1 reskinned again for the 4th time :? :? :? :? :?

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/gaming/201 ... -of-duty/1

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests